EyeTV DTT Deluxe Micro Stick

The EyeTV DTT Deluxe is a particularly small USB stick TV tuner. It is especially well suited for portable Macs where Elgato's normal sticks would sit in the way of other USB connectors.The EyeTV DTT Deluxe comes in a black box. Being a packaging freak myself, I like black boxes only if they’re not vulnerable to scratches or other blemishes. My test unit’s box was blemished indeed—it had scratches on it and lots of them. A pity, as the packaging design is great. Inside the box I found the stick, a tiny telescopic antenna, a special connector-with-cable so you can connect the stick to a regular portable antenna, a portable antenna and a USB extension cable.
I was quite stunned by the size of the EyeTV DTT Deluxe. The “ordinary” Elgato sticks are all firm USB sticks that block USB ports next to them. This stick was so small, I couldn’t but wonder whether the signal quality would be as good as with the others. I also had the chance of comparing it to Miglia’s TVmini2, and found the Miglia seemed like a giant next to the DTT Deluxe.
I tested the DTT Deluxe with the telescopic antenna and found little difference in output quality between it and a regular EyeTV DTT Hybrid with portable antenna. Quality was a bit less than the EyeTV Diversity with its two antennas in place—an Elgato stick that I tested earlier.

During the odd two weeks that I had the DTT Deluxe, I had the opportunity to test it with the telescopic antenna and with the portable one. I found little if any difference in quality between these two signal capturing methods. One thing that I did find is the EyeTV software would not automatically open on my machine when I connect the EyeTV DTT Deluxe. It opens with all other Elgato devices, but not with that one, although it’s correctly identified when I launch the software manually.
Given the elegant and efficient-sized user experience of the stick itself, I think most people won’t be bothered too much by this “flaw”.

Conclusion: the EyeTV DTT Deluxe is the TV Tuner of choice for MacBook users or for those of us who like elegance and want access to all of their USB ports.

Leave a Reply

